Flashback Friday #2: Blind Date (Part 2/2)

Last week I wrote about my unusual blind date experience but didn’t really finish the story. Sorry, I thought the post was getting too long… and also I was too lazy to write the rest (<— the real reason).

lazy

A quick recap for those too lazy to read my previous post and can relate to the above meme: went on a blind date with my bestie Maria with two guys we found online and we didn’t know who they were until during the date or what they looked like until after the date. You know, no matter how I say it, it still sounds creepy… so PLEASE, I beg you to skim over my last post so I don’t sound like some desperate, psychotic delinquent going through a quarter-life crisis.

waiting outside The Dark Table! :)
waiting outside The Dark Table! 🙂

Anyhow, I ended my last flashback post saying that I was waiting for my date in the dark whilst trying to jot down my #DearDiary moment. It was pretty cool because I was trying to focus on what I was writing but as you can see (from my previous post where I’ve included pictures), I was extremely distracted by the voices around me. When my date finally arrived (finally… #YouKnowItsThe21CenturyWhenTheGirlWaitsForTheGuy #RUSerious #JK #INeededToWaitSoIDidntSeeHisFace #WentOffTopic #Sorry #OkayBackToMyStory) we introduced ourselves with our real names and not “Alex”. Mine is Lisa (duhhhh, it’s basically written all over this page #sassy) and his is… DUN DUN DUNNN… *insert dramatic music from Star Wars #NeverSeenIt* … Alex (just kidding, it’s not Alex). But I’m not gonna say what it is because I’m not even sure if he knows I’m writing this #Oops.

let’s just tell this to “Alex”, shall we?

*Note: while I was on my date, Maria was at another table on the other side of the restaurant

After initial introductions and the conventional “how are you”s and “so nice to meet you”s, our conversation naturally directed itself to the realm of typical first-date topics. Now, it might be a good time for me to mention that while we continued to ask about each other’s family members and favourite colours, the food we preordered outside of the restaurant arrived. I ordered steak, and he ordered a vegetarian meal (he’s vegetarian and he was definitely judging my steak).

I think a lot of people underestimate the beauty of this restaurant. You see, being on a date and having the ability to not see anything?! BEAUTIFUL.

you can’t see meeeeeeeee OH YEE.

Do you even know what this means?!?!?!?! Oh THANK HEAVENS. For those of you who have had the pleasure (you’re welcome) of eating with me, you’ll know that I’m kinda (just kinda…) a messy eater who utilizes all the napkins in sight. So for me, this was like a dream come true.

thank you lord for blessing us with restaurants like these

The steak I ordered wasn’t your typical sirloin that required a lot of cutting. It felt more like the beef from Chinese restaurants, to be honest. That being said, there wasn’t much cutting involved. Which was fine by me because  I gave up using my fork after what felt like 3 minutes. I held my hands up and said to myself, “I shall eat like a Neanderthal today”.

I ate like this and nobody knew. #NailedIt

I was also leaning against the wall on the right hand side of me, so although my vocals made it sound like I was a very polite, well-polished young woman that any guy would die to bring home to his parents, I basically looked like this:

(I should really consider deleting my eating description before I become the prime example of a male repellent)

To me, the most exciting part about the date was trying to guess what he looks like based on his voice and the things he was telling me. Do you realize that the only other time you hear someone else’s voice without prior knowledge of their appearance is during a call to customer service? And even then, you don’t give a crap about what they look like because you’re so caught up on trying to think of pragmatic threats to Rogers so they can get you a better deal on your wireless phone plan.

I know, I know, you all want me to skip to the part about whether or not there will be a wedding because y’all were hoping for some romantic story like About Time who did basically the same thing. (I might add that I did this before the movie was released so… should Maria and I somehow be making money off this movie???)

copy cats.

The thing is… (I can already hear the cries of happy-ending believers) something hilarious happened that blew my mind. As it turns out… I knew the guy. I. freaking. knew. the. guy. OKAY LET’S JUST TAKE A MINUTE HERE AND LET THIS SINK IN. How SMALL can the world be?!?!?! Seriously. But to be honest, I feel like after keeping you guys all in suspense for 7 days, this ain’t a bad surprise, eh? (<— I’m sooo Canadian 😀 – side note: YAY FOR GOLD IN MEN’S HOCKEY!! #Swedana #hardtotrashtalksweden #hardtotrashtalkcanada #toocute #letsmakebabies) Cause I bet the pool of possibilities in your minds only consisted of a prince charming and a creeper. But I bet you didn’t expect… AN OLD FRIEND. HA!!!!!

my reaction when I realized I knew him

So how did I find this out? Well, I asked him about his plans for the weekend and he told me he planned to volunteer at a temple. After telling me more about his volunteer work, I realized that I volunteered at the temple when I was around 8(?) years old. We actually knew each other from way back then but we lost touch because I stopped going when my extracurriculars piled up like band, cadets, cadets, and oh yeah, cadets (dang, that took away so much of my time). Since I left the temple before Facebook was even invented, we never kept in touch.

why do I feel more like a damsel in distress now more than ever? LOL #fbf #dontmesswithmyclique
I was tougher 3 years ago… 😦 #cadets #toogirlynow LOL #fbf #dontmesswithmyclique

Needless to say, I no longer had to imagine what he looked like because I already had an idea. Instead, I spent the evening trying to picture how his 9 year old body evolved in the next 10 or so years.

how I envisioned his growth in 10 years

It was definitely an experience of a lifetime, and the fact that I knew him from before was a huge shocker for me. I remember there was a slight awkward silence when we both realized we knew each other. “Hey……………… ” LOL

And… that was my blind date story. Hope you all enjoyed it!

Love,
Lisa

PS. There is a second video but I haven’t gotten around to editing it (thank you, midterms. Always a pleasure) so… until it’s edited, stay tuned!!!

we made this when we were in grade 9! We didn't go to the same high school so we make up our loss time by doing crazy things ;)
we made this when we were in grade 9! We didn’t go to the same high school so we make up our loss time by doing crazy things 😉

Leave a comment